Uptown Stroll

“How many cares one loses when the decision is made not to be something, but someone.”
–Coco Chanel

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Uptown Stroll – 6″ x 12″ Acrylic on Gallery Wrapped Canvas

This is the third painting in the Bethville Series.  I have to admit, they make me happy!  :D

I like that quote, too!  I get up every day and decide to be happy.  I try to be a good wife, a person of my word and a professional in my work.  My 20 year old sign shop will never be big and fancy or make me wealthy, but I get to go there every day and do what I love.   And I get to paint on the weekends!  Woohoo!

Fashion designer Coco Chanel, born August 19, 1883, in Saumur, France, is famous for her timeless designs, trademark suits, and little black dresses. Chanel was raised in an orphanages and taught to sew. She had a brief career as a singer before opening her first clothes shop in 1910. In the 1920s, she launched her first perfume and introduced the Chanel suit and the little black dress.

With her trademark suits and little black dresses, Coco Chanel created timeless designs that are still popular today. She herself became a much revered style icon known for her simple yet sophisticated outfits paired with great accessories, such as several strands of pearls. As Chanel once said,“luxury must be comfortable, otherwise it is not luxury.”

Her early years, however, were anything but glamorous. After her mother’s death, Chanel was put in an orphanage by her father who worked as a peddler. She was raised by nuns who taught her how to sew—a skill that would lead to her life’s work. Her nickname came from another occupation entirely. During her brief career as a singer, Chanel performed in clubs in Vichy and Moulins where she was called “Coco.” Some say that the name comes from one of the songs she used to sing, and Chanel herself said that it was a “shortened version of cocotte, the French word for ‘kept woman,” according to an article in The Atlantic.  Source:  biography.com

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 05:32:13

    Your Bethville series is very special. It makes me smile too. You are such a lucky, special person. I agree with you – I think we make our own decision about whether to be happy or unhappy.

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 10:47:59

    I think it’s the black lines that pull me into these, definitely. All your work has color. The other thing you are super with is simplification. I admire you for that.
    We all go through that something or someone experience. Phew! How much easier it is when we reach that realization. Good quote.

    Reply

  3. Carol King
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 08:51:15

    I like that the Inn is right between the bar and the cafe. You can crawl back to your room whether you’ve imbibed too much or over-ate.

    Reply

  4. Cindy D
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 08:33:43

    Love this one too! I’d love to see a wall of all of them lined up like a little city. Oh my gosh, so cute! I keep thinking one of them is my favorite and then I change my mind. Have you done this kind before? What made you decide to do this series?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 01, 2012 @ 08:54:44

      Thank you so much, Cindy! My next series of three will actually be lined up. I learned this from an artist I admire very much, Don Tiller. In 2009, I went to Port Townsend, WA to take a workshop from him and he had all the students line their boards up on the floor. We made some continuous lines and tried to kinda keep a flow from one board to the next….. but artists are a rather recalcitrant lot and we didn’t all follow the rules. :D Don was such a great teacher and I am to this day his biggest fan! (he even calls me that) I already had my style, but he helped me define my techniques.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 998 other followers

