Masters Study – Georges Seurat A Sunday on la Grande Jatte crop

“A life of reaction is a life of slavery, intellectually and spiritually. One must fight for a life of action, not reaction.”
– Rita Mae Brown

Masters Study – Georges Seurat A Sunday on la Grande Jatte crop

2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor ATC

I loved this entire painting, but was too chicken to do more than a little crop.  I like the  feel of the original, with all the ladies in their Sunday finery.    I really am creating current art, but it’s not ready to post yet, so thanks for hanging in there with me, while I share my 2008 Masters series.   :)

The original Seurat painting can be seen here.

About Rita Mae Brown

American author Rita Mae Brown became a pioneer of lesbian-themed fiction with the publication of her first novel, the best-selling Rubyfruit Jungle. She was born in 1944 in Pennsylvania and ultimately settled in Virginia, where most of her novels take place. After she lost a college scholarship due to her political activism, she briefly lived in an abandoned car with a friend and a cat named Baby Jesus. Her many novels include a mystery series “co-written” with her cat, Sneaky Pie.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Sunday in the park… | jacoboheme
  2. Carol King
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 22:46:19

    I like what you said about finding compositions within larger paintings. I think you were very successful with this selection.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 17, 2010 @ 06:51:41

      Thanks, Carol. They started another one of the Masters projects over at WetCanvas. Revisiting these got some people excited about doing it again. That makes me feel good. :)

      Reply

  3. Ambiguous Artistry
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 12:43:30

    I’m loving this series, just shows how much of a talented artist you are Beth.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 16, 2010 @ 13:13:08

      Awww, thanks so much, Chloe! I learned a lot while I was doing these. It’s amazing how much I remember what it felt like to paint them, as I revisit them 2 years later.

      Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 09:16:23

    This was the painting of Seurat’s that I saw in person, Beth. It is HUGE and takes up one whole wall in Chicago’s Art Museum. I could not really appreciate his work till I saw this scene….. Good crop on the painting. You have featured something very beautiful as the lady with the parasol is the figure that dominates and pulls the eye in the original. I had not really given this composition within the composition much thought, but I like it. Bravo!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 16, 2010 @ 09:39:33

      Thanks so much, Leslie! I can imagine you’d have had to stay at that painting for a long time, to really see it. A whole wall? I can’t even imagine! On this exchange, the moderator stressed finding compositions within larger paintings. It helped me a lot.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 998 other followers

